Last Thursday we were able to share with you the Seekae remix of DNKL’s ‘Battles‘, and it would appear that the internet did decide this was a good thing indeed.

Today we can share a brand new original tune from the Swedish trio, ‘Warm Dark Night‘, which is now nestled comfortably on their Soundcloud page alongside previous internet hits, ‘Hunt‘ and ‘Battles‘.

All these modern day classics are taken from the band’s debut EP ‘Wolfhour‘, released next Monday on Sugarcane Recording. It would be great if you’d consider featuring this EP, a record that, let’s face it, is sure to change our perception of music forever.

You can listen to it in full here (settle in as the Lambert rework at the end is stunning), if you’d like a download of the EP, or need any more information or would like to set up any kind of feature with DNKL then please just let me know.



Artist: DNKL
Released: NOVEMBER 17th (digital) | 12” to follow

Track List:
1. Wolfhour
2. Hunt
3. Warm Dark Night
4. Battles
5. Hunt (Keep Shelly in Athens Remix)
6. Battles (Seekae Remix)
7. Wolfhour (Sun Glitters Remix)
8. Battles (Lambert Rework)

It’s been exciting twelve months for Swedish trio DNKL. Emerging from their Gothenburg basement studio at the end of 2013, the band have featured on some of the most influential music websites around, played at some of Europe’s biggest festivals and won over a legion of fans around the world with their mesmerizing, dark electronic pop.

Their debut song “Hunt”, hailed as a “bleary eyed, 4am triumph”by DIY, would go on to feature everywhere from The Guardian to influential blogs such as Discobelleand Indie Shuffle and would eventually find itself at #35 in The Line Of Best Fit’s ‘Fifty Best Tracks of 2013’.

Its follow-up “Battles”would meet with similar praise, THE FADER describing it as the “best-of-both-worlds bridging M83’s earlier synth work and later rock styling” and Notion Magazine as “pop done right”.

Since then the band have gone onto perform at the world famous Roskilde Festival, open the Way Out West festival with a live performance on the Boiler Room stage, play at Berlin Music Week and support Com Truise on his European tour.

Now DNKL are set to release their debut official release, the “Wolfhour” EP on US label Sugarcane Recordings (Gazelle Twin, John Foxx, Jori Hulkonnen). A 4 track EP featuring “Battles” and “Hunt” alongside two stunning new tracks and live favourites, “Wolfhour” and “Warm Dark Night”, that shows just how far the band have come in the past twelve months.

“The last year has been amazing for us. It is an incredible feeling when the music we have been putting our hearts into finally surfaces and people outside of our tiny basement studio get to hear our songs. For us the release of this EP, and these 4 tracks, represents the end of the first chapter for DNKL and the start of something even more exciting.”DNKL


“‘Hunt’ is a bleary eyed, 4am triumph, blissfully unaware of how beautiful its isolation and saddened glow truly is.” DIY

“Utterly intoxicating and just a little bit unnerving…” The Line Of Best Fit

“Its crackling electronic surface, surging bass and silky, half-whispered vocals remain an utterly enticing prospect.” The Guardian

“A confession: I’ve listened to‘Hunt’ about a gazillion this week. Am I ashamed of my addiction? Absolutely not.” Notion Magazine

“… a sort of best-of-both-worlds bridging M83s earlier synth work and later rock styling, a meteoric track with no shortage of melancholy.” THE FADER

DNKL are André Laos, Claes Strängberg and Jonatan Josefsson. From Gothenburg the trio started DNKL in mid 2013 and have become one of Sweden’s most anticipated newcomers.

http://www.dnkl.eu | https://soundcloud.com/dnkl
https://www.facebook.com/dnklofficial | https://twitter.com/dnklofficial

Sugarcane has had a great year with our last release SUGARS VOLUME I that included Com Truise, David Lynch, Hercules & Love Affair, Kuedo, Gazelle Twin, John Foxx, Jori Hulkkonen, Bloodgroup, Clint Mansell, Sin Cos Tan….so we are excited to share our new upcoming release!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.