Tanya Tagaq winner of the 2014 Polaris Music Prize


Last night was a very special evening for Tanya Tagaq as she awarded the Polaris Music Prize.

Animism by Tanya Tagaq was voted as the winner of the 2014 Polaris Music Prize last night at The Carlu in Toronto.  The winner was decided and announced during the 9th annual gala event.  Tanya Tagaq was awarded a cash prize of $30,000. The winner was announced by the gala host, actor & comedian Jay Baruchel.

Some the award’s previous winners include the likes of  Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).

Tagaq’s unusual sound is almost incomparable to anything you’ve heard before. Admittedly not everyone’s cup of tea, her work is truly unique.

If you’ve never heard her before prepare to be fronted with something unlike anything you’ve ever experienced.

See her in action and form your opinion here.


Well done Tanya Tagaq, looking forward to seeing what’s next.

Tagaq is about to embark on her tour on 1st October. Check her website here for dates and venues.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.